Getting to know you…


Feel like breaking into song now but I promise I wont.
As I mentioned in my last post I was going post some questions for you the lovely readers because I would love to know who is reading or just popping over (to look at the pretty pictures 🙂 )

So lets get started…
1. Name, location yadda yadda yadda (just tell me what you want)
2. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
3. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
4. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
5. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?
6. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?
7. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?
8. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?
9. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now?
10. What are you most grateful for?

Ohhh they are a little bit deep aren’t they? But great questions right???
Now dont feel like you have to answer them all but give it a go. When I have 10 replies I will pop my answers in as well.
Might put some of these questions over on a forum that I am on as well because there were 50 of them all up that I found and really they are great.

Now share the love and comment away 🙂

5 thoughts on “Getting to know you…

  1. hey, i don’t remember, how i ended up in your blog site. but am glad it did and i enjoyed taking the ‘quiz’! 🙂 keep posting.
    1. currently: new Delhi/native of: Kathmandu.
    2. ?umm…..?
    4.laugh.. haha! 😀
    5.ghosts of past and a dead skeleton…
    6.OC-the beach! Nepal is a landlocked country sadly! 😦
    7.well, that’s tough to analyse. i think i’ll leave this one for my friends to wonder.
    8.loosing tough with the good friend who lives right there —–>[‘_’]
    9.uha! i remember, not one not two but many! and yes, i think it matters till today! somethings are just too hard to let go of!
    10. well, this has to be a cliche, so “parents” i’d say.

  2. 1. Name, location yadda yadda yadda (just tell me what you want)

    Hmmm…you wanna know who’s looking around your site? Reading about your dreams, fears etc. I suppose that’s a good thing, to know the demographics of those (for want of another word) voyeurs…

    Location…right now, in semi-darkness, in front of my iMac….cool sea-breeze hitting me in the face, taking away the heat of the day. In the background, some new music (3 tracks) from the upcoming new Moby cd, which he has available for free from his website.

    Alone…but that’s normal for me…and that’s OK for now.

    2. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

    Well, I have done many types of things in my 53 years, but what gave me the most joy was when I was able to directly have an impact on someone’s life. To see them realise a a dream, ambition, desire…probably a job where I could teach again, preferably at university level, as I did at West Virginia University. Seeing the “light come on”, when I student finally got it. But the chances of doing that now are next to none, so maybe I might try my hand at something volunteer-based. Have done plenty of that through the years, and it does give me my jollies.

    3. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

    Man, that’s a tough one. Only one? I’m good at giving advice, not so good at taking that same advice. But if it has to be just one piece, I would say to get involved in some sort of activity through your life where you can help others. Volunteer — help someone less fortunate and show empathy. It really isn’t hard to do. OK…there’s just one piece. I have so much more from the years.

    4. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

    Another toughie…I would say that I care enormously about the welfare of all — even those people who can be oh so mean to me — currently there’s someone that comes to mind at my workplace, who has made my life there so hard…and I could so easily be bitter, but instead I care enough to not make it a big deal. I think this comes from the years of helping others, realising that their current behaviour may be related to unknown current and/or previous events in their personal lives.

    5. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?

    Absolutely. I struggle with it, and I know that it holds me back in some ways, but it’s so darn hard to not hold on to it. It’s not something I care to air on a blog, but ask me in person sometime and I’d probably open up.

    6. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

    I would return to West Virginia…why? Hmmmm…well, I lived in a real community-focused town. I don’t find that here. I was readily accepted into the community, and have some wonderful memories of times spent there. Again, I know a lot of that is because I got involved in the community. Do you see a pattern showing here? Also because the people, despite their low socio-economic standing in life, were so open and not ashamed of who they were. They taught me a lot about what is important in life, and for that I thank each and every one of them.

    This is why I find it really hard to put up with American-bashing, because they aren’t all like George Bush and co. They may not know everything about the world, but who does? They are like you and I — they want to lead a healthy life, have a family, own a house etc.

    7. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

    Totally. Do unto others…I think I’m a bit of an unusual person, especially for a male (some would say quirky, which I am quite OK about). I have never fitted that “traditional” male mould (thank goodness).

    8. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?

    Nor sure…I think for me it is more about the losing of a good friend…be it locally or at a distance.

    9. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now?

    Funny you would pick 5 years — that takes me back to still living in West Virginia, and on the verge of returning home to Qld. It was upsetting, to lose my marriage, and have to come back empty-handed in terms of a relationship. I lost so much, materially and emotionally.

    10. What are you most grateful for?

    Finished it off with another tough one. There are the traditional ones that people come up with, but for me, it is that I had the opportunity to really find out what it was that drove me — moving to the USA challenged me quickly to find what that was.

  3. . Name, location yadda yadda yadda (just tell me what you want)Lib Brisbane Australia
    2. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich? Shopping!!! Nah probably a tour business, like in the tropics….
    3. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be? Be Generous.
    With your time, your money, your heart. If, on my best day, there was a single lesson I could hope to impart to you, this would be it.
    4. What’s something you know you do differently than most people? Ummmm
    5. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of? Oh god yes…plenty of things…
    6. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why? Well a few months ago it would have been christchurch. I love chch its so beautiful.
    7. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend? No 😦
    8. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you? Losing touch with a good friend that lives near you.
    9. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now? Yes actually I do…..and yes its made me who I am now, I think.
    10. What are you most grateful for? My family and my friends.

  4. Whoops I really frigged that up, it was supposed to only be the one about giving generously!

Leave a Reply

