A day of contemplation.


With the bush fires raging in Victoria atm I needed to take a break from the television as it was becoming to distressing. I can not even imagine the terrible things people are going through down there and the heartache over the missing and dead. 173 people so far have lost their lives with apparently many more to be found.

With nothing more than the sound of the fan and the birds outside I have been working on some old crafts that have been left and forgotten for some time.

One of the many visitors dropping in today.

One of the many visitors dropping in today.

About 6 years ago I was taught how to do a basic crochet stitch and for over a year I worked on blanket on and off. This blanket has ended up being my most treasured possession and something I have so incredibly proud of. So today I pulled my blanket out to take some photos and I am glad that I did because I have discovered small part that needs to be mended.

The blanket fits a queen size bed or wraps around a person perfectly.

The blanket fits a queen size bed or wraps around a person perfectly.

At the time I would just pick up colours of yarn whenever I saw something that caught my eye. I am just so proud of the perfection of the work. All even and neat and tight. If I remember correctly I think it was a .5 needle that I was using.

So proud.

So proud.

 

Winter can not come soon enough.

Winter can not come soon enough.

 Now because this blanket is a tad girly and Steve and I enjoy random road trips where my blanket has come in very handy, for some time I had been working on one for him as well. I have been using a size .8 so a larger hook because originally I was using much thicker wool, now I am using a thinner wool but in the same colour range. Am hoping that once washed this blanket will prove to be just as beautiful and loved. I know that my husband will treasure it mainly due to the many hours of work and love that have been put into it. We just have to wait for the photos of this one though.

I know that I have not updated with the craft corner photos yet but it was completed and photos might be up this afternoon.

2 thoughts on “A day of contemplation.

  1. Thank you darl. I cant even guess how many hours are in that blanket lol used to take it everywhere with me to work on but had to stop over summer because it was to hot 🙂

Leave a Reply

